SDVFD&RS Awards Ceremony for the Year 2020
By Public Information Officer Michael (Mike) Roberts
August 5, 2021

On Saturday, July 17, 2021, the members of the Second District Volunteer Fire Department and Rescue Squad, Inc. were able to get together socially for the first time in over a year and a half to celebrate their Annual Awards Ceremony for the year 2020.
Special recognition to our wonderful Installation Committee of Brandy Nelson and Mike Wilson, who planned the event, assisted by Susan Joy and Cheryl Colson.
After some socializing and a delicious meal catered by Rita B Catering, President Ed Stauffer and Chief Gary Joy presented numerous awards to the deserving members who served diligently throughout 2020 in spite of a major on-going pandemic throughout the year.
A special treat for the membership this year was the induction of Life Member Joe Slade into the Southern Maryland Volunteer Fireman’s Association Hall of Fame by Keith Raley, Hall of Fame Committee for SMVFA. Joe’s family was able to be present for the ceremony. Joe’s older sister Ruby Slade, was also honored for her many years of dedicated service to the Auxiliary.

Members were recognized and received special awards as follows;

President’s Award - Lyn Henderson

Harry M. Koehler Memorial Award - Mike Roberts

EMS Rookie of the Year - Makenzie Gaskill

EMS Provider of the Year - Kim Collins

Firefighter of the Year - Francis Bean

SMVFA Hall of Fame induction - Joe Slade

Top 10 EMS Responders (Calls)
10 Janie Stauffer 102
9 Jack Axtell 123
8 Terry Pratt 139
7 Fuzzy Knott 170
6 Kim Collins 182
5 Kathy Stauffer 197
4 Carol Boehm 200
3 Joe Gardner 264
2 Mike Johnson 357
1 Ray Carter 457

Top 10 Fire Responders (Calls)
10 Devon Bean 150
9 Jason Hayden 160
8 Bobby Stauffer 165
7 Ryan Patton 182
6 Ben Windsor 196
5 Paul Hewitt 200
4 Blair Swann 211
3 Cody Henderson 261
2 Francis Bean 363
1 Lyn Henderson 372

Auxiliary Top 10 Service Hours
10 Agnes Birch 79
9 Janie Stauffer 80
8 Becky Boyer 88
7 Sandy Mattingly 89
6 Pat Roche 97
5 Sherry Pickeral 101
4 Keith Dove 114
3 Cheryl Colson 129
2 Robin Dove 185
1 Susan Joy 204

Years of Service
5 Years of Service:
Matt Rogers
Pat Schoenberger

15 Years of Service:
Carol Boehm
Laura Hammett
Billy Trossbach

20 Years of Service:
Terri Evans
Susanne Malebranche
Jan Scrivener

25 Years of Service:
Betty Carter
Lucy Myers
Mike Wilson

30 Years of Service:
Bobby Stauffer

35 Years of Service:
Ruby Slade

45 Years of Service:
Francis Bean
Ray Carter
Cathy Caulder