Second District Volunteer Fire Department and Rescue Squad, Inc.

Second District Volunteer Fire Department and Rescue Squad, Inc.

Upcoming Events

There are currently no events
View All Events

2024 Run Stats
Fire EMS
Total 0 0  

Past Incidents
Fire EMS
2016 423 1164
2017 443 1138
2018 438 1303
2019 400 1688
2020 440 2370
2021 469 1882
2022 421 1515
2023 437 1515


Web Counters
Website Visitors
April 28, 2016
Visitors Today
Jun 16, 2024

Second District VFD&RS Celebrates 73rd Anniversary Installation of Officers
Email Print RSS Facebook Twitter RSS

By Vice President Michael (Mike) Roberts
February 13, 2024

On Saturday, February 3, 2024, members of the SDVFD&RS and Auxiliary, as well as invited guests celebrated their 73rd Anniversary Installation of Officers and Awards Banquet.
Rocky Woodburn, of Lexington Park VRS was the Master of Ceremonies throughout the evening.
Lexington Park Volunteer Rescue Squad filled in for our emergency services crews, and the Ridge Volunteer Fire Department stood by to cover for fire responses.
Following opening remarks, a delicious dinner prepared by Rita B Catering was served and enjoyed by all.
Pat Hassler, President of the Southern Maryland Volunteer Firemen’s Association, and Becky Wathen, Past President of the Ladies Auxiliary to the Maryland State Firemen’s Association, swore in the Department and Auxiliary officers respectively.
Past President Blair Swann, Auxiliary President George Starks, and Chief Ben Windsor presented awards, assisted by Maryland State Delegate Todd Morgan, and St. Mary's Commissioner Eric Colvin.
A highlight of the evening occurred when Auxiliary President George Starks and Auxiliary Vice President Ray Carter presented the Department with a check for $50,000.
Following presentations, members and guests relaxed with dancing and music provided by DJ Donnie Carter.
Many thanks to the Installation Committee of Brandy Nelson, Mike Wilson, Carol Boehm, Blair Swann, Ray Carter, and Susan Joy.

Length of Service Awards were presented as follows;
Ricky Poston 5 years
Aaron Nelson 10 years
Robbie Springer 15 years
Scott Raley 20 years
Jay Rodgers 20 years
Adam Bodnar 25 years and Life Member
Jason Bean 30 years
Danny Henderson 30 years
Gary Joy 30 years
Joe Scrivener 45 years
Auxiliary Length of Service;
Agnes Birch 5 years
Luke Mattingly 10 years
Sandy Mattingly 10 years
Brandon Martin 10 years

Special and Administrative Awards were presented as follows;
Harry Koehler Award: Carol Boehm
President's Award: Diana Little
Chief's Award: Matt Rogers
EMS Rookie of the Year: Wade Gahl
Fire Rookie of the Year: Darrick Henderson
EMS Provider of the Year: Dan Browne
Firefighter of the Year: Darrick Henderson

All photos courtesy of Mike Wilson, SDVFD&RS Photographer

Add a Comment Add a Comment 0 Comment(s)

Website Designed and Hosted By: Content Proudly Maintained By: Contact Info:
Firehouse Solutions
Second District Volunteer
Fire Department & Rescue Squad

45245 Drayden Road
P.O. Box 1
Valley Lee, Maryland 20692
Emergency Dial 911
Non-Emergency: 301-994-0751
Contact Us Page
Copyright © 2024 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)